300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone here leaving NYPD?- 5 1/2 years on and going back into Accounting

Hi everyone, I'm new to the forums here. Just a little background: I'm 29 years old and just made 5 1/2 years with the NYPD. Prior to the job I worked as a forensic auditor for 1 1/2 years. I have a bachelor's degree in accounting. Anyone here have an accounting background? I have reached out to my college and have set up an advisement appointment with an advisor from my business school to weigh some options and assess the current job market.

For various reasons, over the past 1-2 years I have gradually become more dissatisfied with this job. I have worked and still work in some of the toughest areas of the city and in the beginning I thoroughly enjoyed it, but I feel the job has only been getting worse by the minute. The job has only become more and more restrictive and the morale is non existent. I am fortunate enough to work on a team with great people and a great supervisor but as a whole I feel that the leadership on this job is pathetic. Also, I feel the quality in regards to hiring has been decreasing with each class (people becoming cops just for a city job, paycheck, and benefits with no interest/desire in what it takes to be a real law enforcement professional) Anyone else here leaving or considering leaving the NYPD? and Why? Just curious as to what others are thinking for the future of this department and other major PDs across the country.

Thanks

Originally posted by jfmarshall1 View Post