300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Defendant in Civil Rights Case

Good evening. I am currently employed as a Police Officer. I am currently named as a defendant in a Civil Rights lawsuit which stated that I used my powers as a Police Officer (in an off duty capacity) to conspire with another law enforcement organization to have my neighbor arrested for no reason. Because I was in an "off duty" status the State will not represent me in the lawsuit. I acted as a private citizen making a complaint against another individual. The Plantiff was stalking my wife and I and also made false allegations that I was waving a weapon around. I am forced to pay my legal defense out of pocket. My question is, does anyone know of any resources that could help me with legal costs? I have retained an attorney and he is good, but not cheap. I am being sued strictly here because I am a Police Officer and the Plantiff sees a payday. I did what I had to do here by the book, as a private citizen. I am recently married and trying to start a family. This couldn't of happened at a worse time.

Get a loan. Hire an attorney.

NEVER take action off duty.
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

I did nothing except make a complaint as an individual.

Comment

Your wife would be the stalking victim.
        You should have discussed this with your supervisor prior to taking any action.

Comment

Originally posted by CCCSD View Post
          Get a loan. Hire an attorney.

NEVER take action off duty.
          No good deed goes unpunished!

Comment

If you HAD acted as a police officer off-duty, you would be being represented by your agency's legal counsel.

That said, how does someone calling the police, allegedly constitute a violation of civil rights?

Comment

More to the story..?

Comment

Originally posted by Citykid33 View Post
                I did nothing except make a complaint as an individual.