300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CA OIS on Freeway

Not sure if y'all have followed this. I know it's a dog and pony show. But I do like the families attorney's comment "She was not a danger to [the officer]; she was a danger to herself,” Merritt said. “He couldn’t have known that at the time, however.”

https://www.latimes.com/local/lanow/...712-story.html

Thoughts. I know no matter what the family will still get some cash.
    I'd rather be judged by 12 rather carried by 6.

It should be noted that any and all post that are made are based on my own thought and opinions. And are not related or implied to represent the department I work for.

When body cams first came out I was against them. Cases like this make it pretty clear they can save us a lot of headaches.

I hope they don’t get paid. This country is in desperate need of tort reform.
    I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

Curious why it took the family so long to admit that there daughter was suffering from mental problems and in the 911 call regarding her taking the car without permission the fear that she may harm herself.

This incident I'm sure was a suicide by cop.
      Retired LASD

Comment

Originally posted by moparfan View Post
        Thoughts. I know no matter what the family will still get some cash.
        As one that has been investigated more than once.......

There are times when the bean counters figure out that it is going to cost way more to defend than to settle OR they have a case that might be easily defended BUT the circumstances just LOOK wrong and it is easier to settle rather than to fight

I was involved (as the shift supervisor/ decision maker )in an in custody death where my squad and I did everything "right" but the inmate died.

The situation was investigated by everyone from the institution level to the State Police CID & we were cleared of wrong doing.