300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Year Objectives on the job...

Every year we have to list three goals/objectives that can be "measured" through performance.

Ie: write up a search warrant.

What were some of YOUR personal objectives/goals/performance standards that you had in your first year on the job?

Im so new at this game that I dont know what to "pick" as my personal objectives for this year. I dont want to list an objective that is over my head that as a rookie I would never complete.

Any personal experiences?

A one year goal is good to start off with, but you should have a personal 3, 5 and 10 year plan mapped out (at least in your head).

Good 1st year goals.

1. Attend at least one training seminar/class (career related).
    2. Have the most arrests for at least one entire shift (on your squad/watch).
    3. Writing a search warrant is good (but more toward the 3 year goal).
    4. Testify in traffic and criminal court at least once each.

Just some thoughts.

scrubb
    “You sleep safe in your beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do you harm.”

Comment

Thanks..

Originally posted by Softscrubb
      A one year goal is good to start off with, but you should have a personal 3, 5 and 10 year plan mapped out (at least in your head).

Good 1st year goals.

Just some thoughts.

scrubb
      Ive already done numbers 1,4,2. Search warrant! yikes, not usually done by a patrol member--in our dept. done by the vice/CIS/CIU guys...

Good ideas, thanks.

Comment

Make it to the second year.
        Talk sense to a fool, and he will call you foolish - Euripides

Comment

Finish Probation
          Not die of Alcohol Poisoning
          Stay married

I made it and I quit drinking after my rookie year.
          It takes a Wolf.......

Comment

Originally posted by Irishluck31
            Finish Probation
            Not die of Alcohol Poisoning
            Stay married