300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Post Retirement Job As A Small Town Police Chief

Alright guys, here goes. While I might be having a lapse in judgement, I am actually giving some thought to applying for a job as a Police Chief in a city of under 5,000. Here is my deal. I was a suburban city cop 10 + years and then did 17 + as a deputy sheriff. I retired at the end of 2010. Then, I did 6 + for a uniformed quasi-federal agency and retired again. I have taken a crack at "normal" work a couple of times this year. I hated it!

So, a few days ago I see an ad for a small town police chief. It is in a neighboring state, so I will/would have to jump the hoops for reciprocity, but it looks doable. I would probably work another quick 5 years and then retire again.

Here are my questions:

-Has anybody here ever done this? If so, how was it? Was it a good move or a bad move?

-Would you ever attend a City Council meeting during the process jsut to see what is going on in the city?

-Would you do a ride along with patrol? If so, at what point would you do it? Before you apply, after you apply, before an interview, etc.?

-How would you/did you research the city? While I know everybody thinks everything is on the internet, it isn't. Would you stop by the local library and read the local newspaper? Would you stop into the local Chamber of Commerce?

-What about residency? My wife, sons and I have a 5 acre hobby farm. Picking up stakes and "moving to town" really isn't an option for us right now. Not to mention that me wife has a job/career of her own. I guess one of the ways I would "sell this" is to tell them just that. I try to not be an autocrat in my family and maybe I could sell it that way.

-I want to know why there is an opening. Did the previous Chief retire, move elsewhere, get fired, etc.?

-Do they already have an internal, or other, "ringer" for the job? That can be more of a challenge to determine.