300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shifts

Between security and law enforcement, I've been doing 12's for over 10 years. I prefer 12's because you get more days off. One place I want to apply only does 8's and will probably never switch. I don't like 8's because you only get 2 days off, which really sucks unless you are on days 7a-3p. My question is, for guys who work 8's, how do you juggle work, personal, gym, and sleep?
    I yell "PIKACHU" before I tase someone.

8’s suck because of only 2 days off, but the shift goes by fast and you have more time off do do the gym and stuff every workday, my problem is communting eats up 2 hours a day, but still have time to get things done
    Last edited by SunDevil; 06-29-2018, 03:11 PM.

Comment

I just got rolled to a five-8 shift after being away for almost 6 years. I don’t remember how I managed. I do t find much time to handle all that. My day consists of getting up at 5am and getting home around 6pm. (Traffic does not help in any way).
      semper destravit

Comment

I worked 12s in patrol for 8 years. I liked having a lot of time off, being able to take a week off and only use 2 days time. I feel like I saw my kids more on 12s. Granted I was an absentee father/husband on my work days, when you add in an hour of driving, getting held over or court. But a 3 day weekend every other weekend was great and I also miss my days off during the week. I gotta way more stuff done around my house on my Mon/Tues or wed/thurs pass days than my weekends.