300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H.R. 218 vs State Law

I have a question hopefully that has come up somewhere before. I am a retired officer covered and carrying under HR 218. Recently my state , Kansas has passed a concealed carry law.

Under that Kansas concealed carry law if you carry into an establishment that has posted the correct No Carry signs you may be arrested and charged with a Class A misdemeanor.

The state law however specifies that this penalty is for individuals licensed under that act.

(“No license issued pursuant to this act shall authorize the licensee to carry a concealed weapon into “ ) etc. etc. It then goes on to say ( “Violation of this section is a class A misdemeanor.” ).

While I completely understand that under HR 218 we are to honor any private individuals or businesses that do not wish to have weapons carried into their premises, some of the signs posted are not quite up to the state regulations. So not wanting to be a “ Test Case “ if I honestly miss observing one of these signs, my questions are as follows.

1. Although we are responsible for honoring such signs are we criminally liable under the state law provisions even though we are not licensed to carry under the state act? My take is that the Class A misdemeanor charge is specifically for those licensed under the state law and not for HR 218.

2. Is there anywhere listed penalties for violations of HR 218 ?

Again I do not wish to push my luck or not respect private entities that do not wish me armed on their property. Just want to know where we retired officers stand.

Thanks for any assistance you can give me.

I'd check with your state's Attorney General for an opinion on that one. And keep a copy of the answer. You never know what a local elected prosecutor will do to keep their name out there...
    Three Stripes beats Four Aces.
    Retirement: You've Won the War when you're Paid to Stay at Home.

Comment

Hr 218