300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tunnel Vision

I can remember the first situation I was in where I was faced with using deadly force. I remember the whole world going black around the guy, and not seeing anything but the gun and his hands. When I think back, this scares me to death. It did not at the time, because I did not have time to be scared. I had made up my mind to kill this guy, because he was going to try to kill me. There were no other Officers there and I had a good back drop, but still, to think that my mind did that, is something I can't explain. That was a long time ago, and I have been in a few similer cases since then, but the tunnel vision did not come. Have any of you ever had that happen to you? It happened when I was a rookie, I had been of of FTO for about 2 weeks. I remember thinking in the academy when they told us about tunnel vision how it sounded crazy. Anyway, I just thought I would ask. Be Careful.

Tunnel vision

I've had the experience. It was over 30 years ago, but it's as vivid today as the day it happened. Don't agonize over it. In discussions with Officers who have had similiar experiences, it sounds pretty natural. Train well, maintain and enhance your shooting skills, stay safe!!

Comment

I understand how disconcerting that can be.....

Forgive me, but I am a bit surprised at your surprise -- In my academy, our range instructor walked us through all the physiological responses your body goes through during a deadly force encounter. The tunnel vision is a natural by product -- your mind focuses on the most dangerous threat to you. Also- - I would bet that you cant remember hearing anything during that time either. That is a response called auditory exclusion - your mind automatically tunes out non-critical sounds so you can focus on the immediate threat.