Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• National average: Percent of complatints against officers which are sustained

Is there anywhere to find any kind of numbers on what percent of complaints against officers by members of the public are sustained?
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

"With a brother on my left and a sister on my right, we face…. We face what no one should face. We face, so no one else would face. We are in the face of Death." -- Holli Peet

I don't think there is a Federal reporting mandate. Reporting requirements may vary from state to state. California requires annual reporting https://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/a...24-revised.pdf but I am unable to find any public data available on the internet regarding actual statistics.

Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment

Its probably in the single digits.

Comment

My most recent formal complaint was from a guy I arrested for a warrant. The official complaint was that I "came at him wrong." No use of force, no profanity, not even the usual allegations of racism.. just an uneventful arrest of an extremely intoxicated person with a warrant. The supervisor was scratching his head trying to figure out what to put on the complaint card. The subject commented that part of the problem was the he could see "anger in my eyes."
        Drives me crazy to see the media comment about an officer having received complaints prior to a shooting or high profile story. They make no distinction between sustained or unsustained.
        I think there should be some kind of rule that a person must at the very least be sober to make a complaint.

Comment

We don't even hear about our complaints unless they are sustained, which is rare. It's like people are really not aware we have dash cams.

Comment

Originally posted by allen_gamble View Post