300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Automation

What software would you like to see to make your job easier? I'm a recently medically retired officer who has made friends with a venture capitalist. He's looking to invest in our industry to develop software to make our job easier. List anything at all. No idea is too small or too big.
    Last edited by OSP958; 12-18-2016, 11:26 PM.

There are so many different programs available to agencies that anything that we could think of is probably already available. There are nuances of the program we use that are flawed in my opinion, but the originators of the software must have intentionally designed it the way they did.

Suggestions to whatever your friend designs should consider what an officer may feel as inconvenient. For one of the programs I use, I have to wait for it to load which includes an announcement window to come up. I have to click "ok" before I can utilize the program. I never read the announcement and have suggested to them to not make it a mandatory field that shows up, but instead create it to be an option I could click if I chose. The same program also times out and closes after too short a time of not being used. It should be open until I close it at the end of the shift.

So, I don't know what your friend had in mind to invest in, but he should ask you what are the little things that would make software that already exists more appealing to officer.

If he could create the Minority Report pre-crimes thing, that would be pretty cool.

Comment

One that works.
      Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Originally posted by OSP958 View Post
        What software would you like to see to make your job easier? I'm a recently medically retired officer who has made friends with a venture capitalist. He's looking to invest in our industry to develop software to make our job easier. List anything at all. No idea is too small or too big.