300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shift Supervisors and their officers

I am a patrol officer and I have worked with both great and ok supervisors. I have also worked with shift supervisors that have had small things happen in front of them and they would call an officer to come and handle it. I worked with a shift supervisor that told dispatch to pull one of the officers off of a call so the officer could handle an alarm call rather than going himself. The officer had to go to the alarm and them come back to the previous call. I have also worked with a shift Lt. that would go out and take reports for us when we were all tied up on something and that was very appreciated. It has been my experience that more shift supervisors feel that they no longer have to do police work anymore. One former Lt. told a Sgt. I know that she should not be taking an accident report even though the accident happened in front of her. The Lt said that that was an officers job. I know that they cannot get tied up on an arrest but what about taking a report once in a while when needed. How do you guys feel about this and let me hear from the supervisors out there. Am I looking at this all wrong?

In my area, and from personal knowledge, the shift supervisors in the city police department will jump right in and help. Often being the first car on location of a call.

Can't say the same for the local county police though. I think you're right about them.

Comment

Our Lt's will take calls just like anyone else if all of us are busy...they roll as back up on hot calls, work traffic, etc...I have a ton of respect for them. They treat all of us very fair and do whatever it takes to help us out. The only time you hear anything that is borderline negative is if you have delinquent reports..I never do!

Comment

Are supervisor do that samething as us, they run traffic and go to calls and even write the reports for them.