300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Live Fire House (SWAT guys)

Recently, during a LFH scenario, a fellow operator fired his M4 from behind and about a half foot to the right of me. He was engaging a target just in front and slightly to the right of me.
    I've been an operator for over 5 years and served in the military. I understand the concept of train like you fight and am not scared of weapons being fired near me, but..... I cannot see the, "train like you fight" necessity in this particular scenario. I felt this was a serious safety violation.
    Looking for comments?

Risk is inherent in law enforcement and even more so when conducting SWAT operations. If the risk in training is too much for you then you need to decide if thats what you want to do.

Comment

Live Fire

I couldn't disagree more. Being a little nervouse about a operator firing that close to you when maybe someone else has a shot is not unique. I have had several LEO's fire shots that they should not have becasue they got tunnel vision on the target (Ive done this to) THe problem is that it's unusual for SWAT teams to train enough so that shooting close to each other is second nature. The military spends 1,000x's more time doing this type of training and they still have accidents all the time and people die. My opinion is that after training the team should sit down and talk about what went wrong and fix it. Just my opinion
      www.officerdownbracelets.com
      R.L.T.W

Comment

Originally posted by SO535
        Risk is inherent in law enforcement and even more so when conducting SWAT operations. If the risk in training is too much for you then you need to decide if thats what you want to do.
        I appreciate your opinion. I'm very aware of the risks.

To clarify my question, What is everyones opinion concerning firing past (from behind) another operator, in close proximitely (less 2 feet) ,in a fluid (everyones moving all directions) environment.