300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Social Security

I am a police officer in Illinois and oneof the few departments in Illinois that still has money taken out of each check for Social Security. I have been told there was a one-time opt out program years ago and my department decided to continue paying into it. From what I have been told by union lawyers, there is no way to get out of paying social security now. Does anybody know where I can look for more information on how to get out of paying social secuirty, if it is even possible? I havent really been able to find anything too relevant. Thank you.

contact local office

of the Social Security administration or by e-mail socialsecurity.gov

Comment

opting out

My Agencey had the same situation years ago. In Fact before I went to work there in 76. The City and the PD voted to opt in and the FD opted out. So for years I paid into SS and police pension. I did some homework myself and you the individual cannot opt out of the system. It must be a vote of the entire organization. If your agency was afforded that vote already you are outa luck.
      Look at the bright side........................well never mind.

Comment

Opting Out of Social Security

Just out of curiosity, why would you want to opt out of paying social security? If you are injured at work and permanently disabled, wouldn't you want to have the option of applying for social security disability benefits for you and your eligible spouse and child(ren) if tragedy struck?

Comment

Originally posted by actiontrooper
          Just out of curiosity, why would you want to opt out of paying social security? If you are injured at work and permanently disabled, wouldn't you want to have the option of applying for social security disability benefits for you and your eligible spouse and child(ren) if tragedy struck?