300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• denied heart/lung disability after 4 bypasses

I had a cardiac event in 2003, not a heart attack, but they couldn't fix me with medication, and balloon angioplasty failed because the main artery was blocked 100%. I ended up with 4 bypasses, and I have to wear a compression stocking every day to fight poor circulation in my left lower leg that resulted from the vein harvesting for the bypasses.

I have been a cop since 1977, but only on the state of Iowa payroll for 10. I put in for disability retirement under the section that specifies that 'heart/lung disease is presumed to be a job related injury', but the POR board rejected my application. They claim I am not 'disabled', even though within the past 3 years they've let out guys with only 2 bypasses and just a single stent put in.

Does anyone else know of anyplace that would make a guy stay on the job after 4 bypasses??

Can anyone help support my position that I should qualify for the disability retirement??

Why don't you want to go back to work?
    www.traffic enforcement.org

Comment

Please tell me that was sarcasm!

jri96, good luck. Keep me updated.

Comment

Originally posted by tommytrafficcop
        "Life's tough, it's tougher if you're stupid." John Wayne

Comment

tommytrafficcop that was cruel.

You need a great disability attorney that would clean their clock on this one...............

Comment

Guess what I was asking about was what other retirement & disability systems have to say about heart disease. "Somebody" said they heard from "somebody else" (I know how that goes) that other places put you out if you have surgical intervention - even getting a stent put in. What the real scoop around the country??

Comment

Originally posted by jri96