300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Level III vs IV rifle plates.

I got an email from a local store that has a good deal going on for a level III rifle plate package. I am considering getting it but am wondering if i should just save up for a level IV vest.

This will be for patrol use and only brought out for an active shooter situation.

So do you think LEVEL III is good enough?

How good a shape are you in?
    How cheap are you?
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

I could be in better shape and i am more on the cheap side.

Comment

Then buy LIII and see what happens...

Comment

Well im trying to buy once and be done with it.

The weight of the vest shouldn't bother me. And as far as money goes, i am willing to spend some cash on this. Im just not looking to spend a grand

Comment

There is already a pretty good thread in the equipment section.
            I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

Would at least go III+

Comment

Cops are cheap when they buy stuff. So it's ALL on you.

Comment

Of course extra protection is always great but I'm curious to see the reports for the recent LODD and injuries regarding gunfire.. did the shots penetrate the vest or did they hit the area vests didn't cover?

Seems the gun shots of the officer not making it aren't about the vest not doing its job but more of the bullet hitting below the vest, under the arms, or face/neck shots

Comment

So do you think LEVEL III is good enough?
                    No, Level 3 won't stop the 5.56x45mm M193 round at CQB distances, which is probably the most common surplus AR round out there:

Get at least Level 3+

I'm going to be testing some non-NIJ certified poly plates that the manufacturer claims are Level 3+. Since they aren't certified they are cheap: $170 per plate vs the $400+ for most poly plates... and they are light. If it passes my test I'll be ordering some for my plate carrier.

Right now I run this Level IV setup: