300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making the jump to Investigator/Detective

I just hit 7 years, and have been kicking around the idea of making the move. I've been approached by several guys in our investigations unit, as well as patrol supervisors, about applying, so the opportunity is there. My biggest inhibitor is me. I'm not sure if it's what I want to do.

So for you guys that made the jump into a suit and tie, what are your thoughts? Do you miss patrol? Would you go back? What don't you like about investigations?
    Less than 5 years
    25.71%
    5-10 years
    57.14%
    10-15 years
    8.57%
    15+ years
    8.57%
    I make my living on Irish welfare.

Making The Jump To Investigator/Detective

Originally posted by reils49 View Post
    .....So for you guys that made the jump into a suit and tie, what are your thoughts? Do you miss patrol? Would you go back? What don't you like about investigations?
    That depends. What sort of investigations unit is it? Is it General Investigations? Is it Narcotics? Is it Fugitive/Warrant work?

It definitely is different. In some respects, I think investigations differs more, from agency to agency, than patrol does. Think about it. Not to down play it, but most patrol units are guys and gals working some traffic and/or chasing radio calls. I felt burnt out while in patrol from all of the report calls after a while. Fortunately, the PD I worked at allowed us, on patrol, to take the case as far as we could, within reason, before turning it over to the investigators. Other places take a report and turn it over.

I never worked the drug task force, so what I know about that is second hand. Obviously it is different from patrol and general investigations.