Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Going to suggest a change in policy...

...at my department.

Specifically, I want to put a spit hood on any inmate I transport who is sneezing or coughing.

Last week a female was hacking up a lung for over two hours... now I have a chest cough and 102 fever.

Damnit.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

"With a brother on my left and a sister on my right, we face…. We face what no one should face. We face, so no one else would face. We are in the face of Death." -- Holli Peet

Spit hoods probably won't prevent transmission of germs..................the mesh isn't that tight.

A "dust mask" would work under most circumstances as the filter is tighter
    Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important

My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

Get with your PH nurse and get some stats to show benefits of putting masks, not spit hoods, on suspects with airborne transmitted diseases.

Also, file a W/C claim specifying the sick suspect, how it could have been prevented, etc.
      Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Concur with mask v spit hood.

Comment

Going To Suggest A Change In Policy...

Tanksoldier,

Was she a fresh arrest or already an inmate?

Jim

Comment

Was she a fresh arrest or already an inmate?
            Already an inmate. I was moving her from another county's jail to our jail to await her parole hearing.

In all seriousness, I can refuse inmates with serious medical conditions: recent stroke, heart attack, transplant, pregnant...

I'm going to ask if we can expand that to obviously ill inmates.

Concur with mask v spit hood.
            Yeah, but a mask they can just pull off...