Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tracking & tracing text messages: Best practices?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tracking & tracing text messages: Best practices?

This is something we don't deal with in our rural department very often, but the issue of threatening text messages has come up WRT violation of a protection order/ witness intimidation.

What is the current "best practice" for obtaining a copy of a phone record and proving from whom certain text messages came?

What are the pitfalls we'll have to plan for (somebody else sent it, it wasn't me, etc, etc)?

Anything else to consider?
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

"With a brother on my left and a sister on my right, we face…. We face what no one should face. We face, so no one else would face. We are in the face of Death." -- Holli Peet

What does your DA say?
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Originally posted by CCCSD View Post
      What does your DA say?
      "Bring me a 110% tight case, and we'll get the arrest warrant".

Seriously, I'm not the one dealing with the DA.

I don't want to go into details, but my division isn't the one that would normally investigate something like this. My boss sort of backed into it as part of something else. I got roped in due to certain experience I have that's relevant and I'm trying to be as useful as I can, because I take the underlying offense personally.

We have investigators and other resources we can access, I'm just trying to get a better idea of the process than the brief touch they gave it in the academy... and also to see if there's anything new under the sun.
      Last edited by tanksoldier; 01-18-2015, 10:19 PM.
      "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.