300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Things you wish someone had told you as a rookie

I know we had a thread like this awhile back, figured I'd chime in and start it up again.

1) That little switch in the middle of the dash kills all the power. If you don't turn it off, you'll need a jump when you get back from days off.

2) Supervisors rotate often. Never accept an assignment based solely on who's currently in charge.

3) Plan for retirement from day 1.

4) Carry a knife with a glass punch. When you need it, you'll need it right now.

5) Slow down. You aren't going to help anyone if you can't make it to the scene.
    I miss you, Dave.
    http://www.odmp.org/officer/20669-of...david-s.-moore

People told me all kinds of things when I was a rookie, but I didn't listen to most of it because I already knew it all. As I've gone along, I've seen **** and been like "yep, XXX was right about that too" and checked it off the List.

You know, the List Of **** That People Told You That Turned Out To Be True But You Thought You Knew Better. Anyway..

6) Make sure the cartridge isn't in there before you do a spark check.

7) If you jam up someone who works at a local restaurant, put that in briefing.

8) Gloves. lots of 'em.

Comment

That idiot your making fun of who just started at some point could be your boss.

Comment

Stay away from dispatchers

Comment

Take the Fire Dept. test.

Comment

Originally posted by scuba4321 View Post
            Stay away from dispatchers
            This^^^^^

Gossip central that you don't want to get caught up in.

Comment

Originally posted by Amigo1342 View Post
              This^^^^^

Gossip central that you don't want to get caught up in.
              Well, that, and they sometimes get pregnant at awkward times and your wife just won't understand...
              I miss you, Dave.

Comment

Originally posted by CruiserClass View Post