300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HAM radio

Anyone into HAM radios? Does anyone have one in their squad?

I have ZERO experience with HAM radios but I'm considering getting into it as a hobby. Only really looking into getting the technician or general license for HAM. Can anyone give any benefits or negatives? I don't currently own one and will probably start out with a cheap hand held.

Any positives to having one in your squad?

It's a great hobby, but I can't think of any benefits to having a ham rig in a department vehicle, except maybe in a mobile command post. The chief/sheriff might see it as a "distraction," and cast disapproving looks upon you.

Then again, if you had that two-meter handheld available some day during a search for a missing person when some hams volunteered to help, or maybe during some massive telephone outage, it could come in handy until the command post got operational. (2M is the most commonly used VHF FM mode, with lots of repeater stations and many users in most areas. Some ham repeaters have emergency power.)

I've worked a bunch of public service events since getting licensed ('83, I think it was), both emergencies and scheduled events like marathons. Sometimes it was just hams manning checkpoints along a route, other times working with the local PD on traffic control. The non-emergency stuff is good practice for the SHTF days with no power, no phones, no nuthin' except some people doing the adapt-and-improvise thing that hams have been doing for decades.
    --
    Capital Punishment means never having to say "you again?"

Comment

A couple friends had ham radios in their squads about 15 yrs ago. They used them for car to car comms etc . All of them are now administrators so they don't patrol anymore. The Sheriff approved ---------I think there were 5 or 6 deputies that used them.