Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Court Advice?

First court appearance tomorrow.

I go to court a lot, transporting inmates for hearings or advisement, but tomorrow will be my first time on the stand.

They had us doubled up with patrol deputies for a special event a few months back. We pulled over a vehicle with no front plate, obtained consent to search and found an open beer bottle and an open marijuana container. I wrote the summons as a training exercise... so guess who gets called into court when the subject decides to take the matter to trial?

On the plus side, I was scheduled to work anyway so it's not happening on my day off like seems to always happen for everybody else.

I suspect the subject is hoping I won't show. Sorry dude, I was going to be in court anyway that day with a string of ******bags in tow.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

"With a brother on my left and a sister on my right, we face…. We face what no one should face. We face, so no one else would face. We are in the face of Death." -- Holli Peet

Eye contact with the judge or which ever attorney asks you a question

Speak clearly and carefully

Tell the story as it happened, ask before referring to notes.

If you don't know the answer to a question...............tell them . If you need a repeat........ask for a repeat.
    Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important

My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

look over your report or notes as you sit and wait. in the future if your cites have room for notes on the back fill it out along with your call log. the more you can short hand the better. shows your not guessing. calm your nerves and block others out
      I'd rather be judged by 12 rather carried by 6.