300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New hire transfer advice

Ok, so this isn't one of those "my best friend has an issue but it's really me that needs advice" posts. This is legitimately for my best friend who has recently been hired by an agency. I am perfectly happy with my agency and this has nothing to do with me, haha.

So, my buddy has been hired with a University police department and he has only worked 2 shifts. His certification was going to expire in January so he kind of settled for a job for that reason. It's his first law enforcement position so he's needing some advice on what to do. I am also on the fence about it because it seems like a touchy situation and I am also new to the career so I have no experience with anything like that. He is a little bummed about the job because he feels like they "sold" him on it a little bit just to get him in the door. He is very talented and by no means needs to be at a university with only 2xxx students. He is wanting to apply at some other places (my department primarily) but he is afraid if he does that it will give him somewhat of a bad rep in the field. He doesn't want to burn any bridges or make anyone mad, but he wants to be happy and utilize himself to the fullest. I told him, "it's you're career not theirs" and that he had to follow his heart, but that's easier said than done when you're only 2 days into your first LE job. I'm leaning towards just suggesting to him to man up and apply at other places so he can be happy, but I just don't know either. Wanted to see what you guys thought about the situation and what you might would do? His main concern is that if he tells his chief that he has plans of leaving already, he's afraid of getting treated differently or facing some sort of reprocussions, but he's also worried that if he applies and he doesn't tell his superiors, they will find out when other agencies call employers. Anyway, any input I'm sure would be helpful and I w