Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sovereign citizen advice

Hello.

I'm a British Police officer, a Detective Constable, working in the South-East of England. Long time, no post.

Over on this side of the Pond (or at least in my bit) we have had a sudden upsurge in people who identify themselves as sovereign citizens, or who at least identify with the belief system. This ideology is not something that has had really any media exposure in the UK and the sudden appearance of people screaming "I DO NOT CONSENT" for no apparent reason during traffic stops and going on about Admiralty Law in interview has left my colleagues more than a little bemused.

Any road, I'm hoping to knock together a shortish presentation for colleagues who have initial contact with, and then who have to interview, sovereign citizens. I'm not looking for a description of sovereign citizen core beliefs; I'm hoping that colleagues in the US (and indeed, anywhere else) can provide me with advice on techniques you have found effective in de-escalating contacts and generally establishing an effective rapport whilst still acting in a professional manner.

Many thanks.
    I'm a little bit waayy, a little bit wooah, a little bit woosh, I'm a geezer.

You may find some useful information here.

Comment

I have had a few incidents involving sovereign citizens, and ironically all were during traffic stops. The key is to keep your composure and not let your guard down. Depending on how radical of a group they are in, they can be anywhere to passively resistant, to down right dangerous. Often they will try and hand you bogus documents that try to validate what they are saying. Just stick to what you know and if you know a crime has been committed, then don't be afraid to act, regardless of who they say they are. Many times the encounters may require you to use force to control the situation. Don't let that scare you and keep safety first and foremost.

Comment