300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Taser w/ OC or baton

I'm on my first month as a sworn officer, I've been certified in OC & the taser.

Due to room on my duty belt I've chosen to carry my taser with my sidearm, but only have room and prefer to carry either OC or the expandable baton as my backup to the taser for non lethal options.

I'm torn, I can't stand the extra weight of a decent baton but on the other hand cross contamination of OC, that stuff was awful.

Which would you choose I'm my case & why?

Municipal police 10,000 ish if not more pop.

Thanks for the feedback.

Batons don't need to be reloaded and work in all weather conditions. If the fancy toys fail I'd rather have a baton to rely on than my fists.

Comment

Thank you,

I'm more interested in your decision between the OC & baton along with the taser as a whole. I understand both have pros & cons and are situational but as a whole and between one or the other and why.

Thank you again

Comment

How big is your waist? I am a size 30 (on a good day) can carry it all with a little room to spare. I have a slim line mag case, OC, weapon with tac light, cuffs, space (enough for a glove pouch if I wanted), cuffs on a strap, flashlight, radio, baton, taser, duty phone.

At my first department, we weren't allowed to carry OC and could only have a taser after being there a year. I used my baton once and it didn't work as well as I hoped. That being said, I still like to carry it. All the tools are pros and cons. Need to smash a window, strike several people rapidly, intimidate the hell out of someone, or even just scratch under your vest? Baton. Want to get a violent crowd to disperse, an unfriendly dog to leave you alone, or force someone out of a car or bathroom? OC. Want to totally incapacitate someone (usually) and end a lot of fights before they start? Taser.