300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ever served on a jury?

I just got my first ever summons for jury duty. I'm quite sure I'll be booted as soon as the defense finds out my occupation. Have any of you ever been seated on a jury in a criminal case as an LEO? I just can't imagine it happening unless the defendant had used all of his strikes.

I just recently got called for jury duty and almost got empaneled for a civil jury, but I was excused in one of the last cuts. One of my peers actually sat on a civil jury.
    I’ll die with blue in my veins.

Comment

Yup. And then they find out Im a cop and the Defense attorney normally uses me as a strike.
      Why do we try so Hard for Little things, and so Little for Hard things?

"There is no happiness without tears; no life without death. Beware, I will give you cause to weep"

R.I.P Hand Sanitizer, you will be missed…

Remember, Gay, Straight, Black, White, or HIV+, on this forum you're "Blue" and that's what matters most.

Comment

Not required to serve jury duty as an active full time peace officer!!!
        "For he is God’s servant for your good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for he does not bear the sword in vain. For he is the servant of God, an avenger who carries out God’s wrath on the wrongdoer." Romans 13:4

Comment

No, but my chief has.

Comment

been called many times. always one of the 10 strikes ,but i know alot of officers who have been picked.

Comment

I've seen a number of NYPD officers serve on criminal juries in non-cop cases. Defense attorneys will pick an officer for the fact that he/she can read through the bull.

Comment

We're legally prohibited from serving on juries.

Comment

I was called to serve on a STATE jury in th.e late 1990's....................seated in the first "draw" and excused by the defense attorney.

I was sent a notice for FEDERAL jury. QUICKLY used my LE exemption from service with a copy of my work ID sent to the Clerk.