300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How would you charge this?

Motorcyclist tries to pass pickup truck on a two lane road.

Truck swerves into oncoming lane and tries to squeeze motorcycle out, but eventually motorcycle gets by. Motorcyclist took a picture:

Truck by tanksoldier123, on Flickr

Pickup truck driver did the same thing to another motorcyclist who was in front of the one who took the picture.

Would you charge this as a traffic offense, reckless driving, etc... or as a persons-type crime: felony menacing or reckless endangerment?

ETA: Not my case, or one in my jurisdiction, just curious how it would be handled in different areas.
    Last edited by tanksoldier; 05-22-2014, 12:47 AM.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

"With a brother on my left and a sister on my right, we face…. We face what no one should face. We face, so no one else would face. We are in the face of Death." -- Holli Peet

Reckless driving here (arrest or citation an option) . Court appearance required.

Comment

If the bike operator can articulate an attempt to strike him with the truck, Assault with a Deadly Weapon in my state, especially after the other attempt with the second bike.

The problem is going to be identifying the driver.
      Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment

Would have been interesting had I been the one on the motorcycle. I'd have a device other than a camera in my hand.
        Getting shot hurts! Don't under estimate the power of live ammo. A .22LR can kill you! I personally feel that it's best to avoid being shot by any caliber. Your vest may stop the bullet, but you'll still get a nice bruise or other injury to remember the experience.

Comment