300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• It's ok, I'm in Criminal Justice.

Between warm weather and school winding down during finals, I feel like I've met way more goofy criminal justice students recently. In the past week a few have stuck out.

#1 was while I was handcuffing a kid with a bunch of weed a paraphernalia in his car. "Is this going to hurt my chances of being like you? I'm in criminal justice." When I told him getting arrested for drugs probably won't help his chances, he explained that he doesn't actually want to be like me, he just wants to be a homicide detective...

#2 was driving with a revoked license and about 100lbs overweight. He wanted to know how much my department paid, and if he applied when he could start. I reminded him that I drive a car for a living, and have to fit in the car. He told me he'd just work for a crooked department that would sneak him on, because he has a lot to offer...because he took criminal justice classes.

#3 during a stop in a gas station lot with two young productive members of society practicing the splits and hanging onto the car trunk a kid started to walk between me and scab #1 to ask how he could "get on." After a brief reminder to stay out of the way and the stop was finished, we had a talk about common sense. He told me his professor told him to ask cops he met how to apply, and if I had an application in my car.

#4 had some failure to appear warrants.....

I don't blame these dopes for wanting to be cops like they see on T.V., I just wonder what sort of schools and professors are encouraging (or not discouraging) them to act this way. I never took criminal justice, so I don't know what goes on in there.

Don't worry. I know what I'm doing. I took Criminal Justice.