300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• .357 SIG Cartridge

I am a firearms trainer in a mid-sized department in the Midwest. We currently use Glock Models 22/23 in .40S&W. We are currently looking at Glocks chambered in .357Sig as replacements for our aging pistols. I would appreciate any information and insights that could be provided regarding this cartridge, specificaly regarding street performance, reliability, etc. Thanks.

I am a deputy in the southwest (~500 cops) our entire SWAT team (30 cops) are all issued the Glock in .357 sig. Also road deputies can carry one if they buy it on their own. Everyone that has one loves it. I will try to get one of my buddies who carries one to post you on this.

Comment

Check with Texas DPS. They have had a lot of documented shootings with the .357Sig. The only bad thing I have heard about them is they tear up weapons a lot faster than conventional cartridges due to the extreme pressure the round generates.
      If you stare into the abyss long enough,sometimes it stares back.

Comment

I've use the 357Sig for the last 4-5 years. Everyone on our department loves the round and is happy with it. We carry the Sig 226/229. IMO if you are looking to use that round in the Glock pistols, I would carry the G31. I have a G32 for off-duty and the muzzle flip is a little more than in the Sig pistols because of the weight difference in the guns.

We did ballistic testing in gelatin and were quite happy with the results the Gold Dot round demonstrated. The Remington Golden Sabre Bonded round can a close second.

Comment

You're pretty much getting new Glocks and not much else. The difference between the .357Sig and .40 S&W when using Gold Dots or Golden Sabers is a wash. Shot placement, the best ammo and they will both do the job.
          Trooperden, akman75, & azmichelle ignored

Comment

A decent round, but it's a bit pricey compared to other calibers.