X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Prangler
    Forum Member
    • Mar 2006

Local to Fed to Local

Just curious if anyone has ever come across this issue/problem. I was a uniformed police officer in a very small community. I loved the actual work, interaction, traffic, calls...etc. However the pay wasnt that good and the retirement was awful. I applied, and was given a federal agent job. Pay is great, retirement is good, the work is not what I expected. I actually miss how much fun uniformed police work is. Greatest job in law enforcement and I am considering going back to it. My hometown is hiring, good pay, good retirement, but not as good as the feds.

Anyone ever been in this situation? Ever switch back and go from the feds to local? I know most people just rant about the feds...but Im not that impressed. Just wondering if anyone has had any experience with this...regrets?
  • Iowa #1603
    Senior Veteran
    • Aug 2007

Yep.......................one of our members "Kimble" did this
    I DON'T ALWAYS LIKE BEING A RETIRED POLICE OFFICER .......Oh who the hell am I kiddingI LOVE IT. Stay safe my friends

Comment

• Prangler
      Forum Member
      • Mar 2006

And to clarify...I was a cop for about 5 years. Been with the new agency for about about 2 years.

Comment

• SinePari
        Littering and...
        • Jan 2004

I've only met one local who went fed and came back. It's not the same as local/state cops who are running hot to calls all day long and making contacts regularly. I think most fed work is kind of mundane but labor-intensive investigations. The task force guys I work with have admitted they would have loved my job, but wouldn't give up their fed pay and bennies just for super trooper jollies (though I would stack my pay/retirement up against theirs any day).

You gotta do what's best for you and your family (which usually either means stay put or go fed and make some $$$).
        Whitechapel - Hate Creation

Comment

• Georgetime