300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Important career decision

I've been an officer for three years now this month. I worked for my first agency for two years and June will be 1 year with this agency. This is a nice town to work for. We're civil service, have a good retirement, stay busy, get take home cars, make good money, get to go to training when we want (pretty much), work 12 hour shifts, have cool Sgts/Lts, etc.

However, it has come to my attention that Texas DPS is offering guaranteed duty stations right now. I don't know how long they're going to be offering that option (maybe there's some troopers here that can chime in). I'm just not sure what I should do. I've been thinking about trying to see if I could actually get anywhere in their hiring process and see how far I make it (I'd hate to waste anyone's money). I feel like my superiors here really enjoy having me work for them. I'd hate to regret not applying while I'm young (25) and not being able to get a shot at being a Trooper. In my three years I've found my calling and it's dealing with DWIs. I'd rather make a DWI arrest than anything else. Here in June I will be making $24 and some change/hour and I'd have to take a slight pay cut. I get a lot of overtime working for a municipality as where I don't think Troopers get as much overtime as I do. Those are the only drawbacks I can think of.

Like I said, June will be a year here. I know the employers look at someone's dates from their work history. I wonder if they might think something of me since I'm on my second police job in three years and possibly applying at another one. It is noted that I left my first agency on good graces. It just wasn't for me but I'm eligible for re-hire there. I never had any problems. The micromanagement was unmanageable and it was a rich white town of 30,000 full of attorneys and prikks.