300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Issued Weapons

I have been assigned to (with others), test, evaluate, and reccomend a department issued handgun for my department. Looking for advice if anyone has done this before. I am a firearms instructor and "gun guy". But wondering if anyone has any selection criteria or objective standards to share.

We are not issued sidearms from the department. Instead we have a list of approved firearms we can choose to carry. With that said, I hope you find the following information at least somewhat helpful.

I checked our policy and it lists criteria about certain weapons. It lists things like minimum barrel lengths for duty carry and off duty/BUG and the types of finishes allowed. It does not specify why the limits are set as such or how the conclusion was made as to what is acceptable.

I searched our policy and found no set standard by which a firearm is evaluated against in order to become eligable to be on the approved list. There is only a note that the firearms coordinator will test and evaluate a weapon to make sure it meets the departments standards (which are aparently a big secret). I can pm you our policy if you would like to take a look at it.

The one problem we seem to run into here is that if someone want's a gun approved, not only does it have to meet the "department standards", but it also has to please the coordinator's preference about certain brand's of weapons. Our boss always goes along with whatever the coordinator says as well. This is why nobody in the department hired after 2001 is allowed to carry a Smith and Wesson, including the M&P.

Does your department allow it's officers to purchase their own weapons instead of being issued one?

Comment

My department uses Glock 17 and Glock 19 handguns. I am biased towards them and highly suggest them as a duty gun.
      I shoot competitively with them and have found them to run flawlessly.