300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do you think? The security of law enforcement careers

My name is Carole Moore and although I am no longer on active duty as a police officer, I still cover law enforcement issues by writing for Law Enforcement Technology. Officer.com editor Frank Borelli has graciously allowed me to post here on occasion in connection with stories I am pursuing for that publication.

Right now I am interested in sparking discussion about the future of law enforcement -- and public safety careers in general. When I first strapped on a gun belt, we told each other, "We might not make much money, but we'll always have a job." Sadly, with cut-backs and lay-offs, that is no longer the case in many places.

So, I ask you: Have your pensions and/or benefits changed? Do these changes (or the possibility of these changes) affect your decision to stay in the profession? If you are entering the workforce as a new recruit, did the perceived stability of a law enforcement career influence your career choice? Have recent events changed your mind?

Discussion and ideas would be terrific, but I'd also like to talk to you off the boards, if you're amenable. I will hold your remarks in confidence unless you give me permission to use them.

I am also looking for suggestions of criminal justice executives -- police chiefs, sheriffs, etc, -- who have been strong advocates for their officers or who have gone on the record to defend their officers' paychecks and fight against cuts. If you know one, please let me know.

I can be reached at carolemoore_biz (AT) yahoo.com.

Thanks for reading.

Carole

Carole,

Since you went to the trouble of getting the ok from the site before posting I'll happily answer your questions. If you'd like shoot me a PM with whatever questions you have and I'll reply back with whatever feedback I can offer.
    sigpic

Comment

Carole,

Have your pensions and/or benefits changed?