300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A minor infraction of a rule??

Have you ever committed a minor rule infraction that a supervisor, or another officer, thought was a big deal?

An example:

Years ago when I was a Motor Officer we had a lady report her little girl was lost in the park (after dark). We had Officers searching the area on foot and a couple motor officers. I end up finding the little girl down by a creek. She was okay. She came out when she heard the motorcycle and was able to find her way out of the woods. I picked the little girl up and gave her a slow-ride back to her mom who by this time was frantic. She was so happy to see her little girl. All the officers I worked with thought it was cool I gave the girl a ride back to her mom. After everything was over I got an a## chewing from the Sgt. because the little girl didn't have a helmet, what if she had fell, etc. (I was going about 5mph). Needless to say lost respect for the Sgt. that day).
    "Lay there and bleed awhile before you feel some real pain."

"Have a cup of coffee, a pall mall, and relax!"

"Was that wrong? Was I not supposed to do that? I gotta plead ignorance on this one because if anyone ever told me that kinda thing was frowned upon..."

Better to ask for forgiveness than permission.
    "I think it takes a particular coward to criticize procedures that you don't understand; particularly when they apply to places that you don't have the bravery to go" - Battalion Chief John Sullivan, FDNY

"Keep your booger hook off the bang switch!" - Rev1

"If you reload like old people f@ck, then you need to be behind something that stops bullets." - Blackdog F4i

IGNORE = since9, justme001, opencarry, bsd13, asullivan, okjoe, Patrick Sander, CJ616

Comment

Ohh yeah, but never an infraction that the supervisor who said something hadn't done..