300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flying with Firearm

Hey, I know this has been talked about in the past, but my search button only likes to work on random days... Today is not one of them.

So, my two questions, and if anyone can pm me with the answer I'd greatly appreciate it.

I'm flying to Miami Beach this winter for a vacation with the girlfriend. I would like to bring one of my off-duty guns. Can someone PLEASE explain the procedure to check it onto the plane. Procedure, lock, etc....

Also, I'm a Federal Officer and it was never discussed when I went through training with my department. My buddy who is currently in the training had someone ask specifically during it, if the agency cares if we fly while armed. They said they were not against it. SO, is there any Officers... Federal I believe are the only ones who can do it Off-duty... that have flown while armed, and can you PLEASE pm me on how to go about doing that.

Either way I have to do it, I would just not like to be on vacation for a week down in Miami without it and am hoping someone can help me with how to go about getting it down there. Thanks in advance. Be safe.

PM sent. However if you are not sure and you are with a Federal Agency and you have not done any training or taken a course on flying armed. Most likely you cannot. There are only so many x amount of Federal LE agencies that can fly armed.
    "An excuse is worse and more terrible than a lie, for an excuse is a lie guarded."

Comment

I've flown armed before, but only while on-duty. You should closely look at not just your agency's, but the airline policy regarding off-duty carry on board. For regular checked luggage, the procedures are pretty simple and I've never had a problem.

1) Find an airline approved lockable case for transport. (It can be a small box that you can fit inside your suitcase or a somewhat larger one, checked separately.)