300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Written Proposals

Has anyone been asked to write proposals for your department? Our department currently provides vehicle lockouts as a service. As a patrol officer I get sent to a lot of them. Annually we due about 5000 lockouts.

Due to the ever changing economic times our city is crying broke and we are understaffed. Those of us on patrol have suggested changing our policy to charge a small administrative fee for the service or to change the policy so that we will only unlock a vehicle if a child or animal is loked in the car as an emergency situation.

I am also putting a proposal together to get funding to switch our current shotgun mounts to a universal mount that can accept both shotguns and rifles.

Writing budgetary/business proposals is not my strong suit so was looking for any help. If anyone has examples or templates that used they would be much appreciated.

Stay safe!

If you're going to charge for anything, charge for multiple false business and residential alarms.

Comment

I'd be very, very careful...especially if you're in a small city, about charging for things like vehicle unlocks. Sure they're not really "police related," but they're community service oriented, and allow you to make contacts with people. I've gotten some good tips about drug activity from people in apartment complexes while unlocking vehicles for them.

We charge administrative fees for false alarms at businesses and residences, and for performing BMV checks on vehicles (mostly because the BMV required it to be done, but never consulted law enforcement about doing it, just kind of assumed we'd do it).