300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Retirement question

Does anyone know what the website is for our LEO Benefits? Not the one given by our state but I guess the federal benefit?
    "Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. The MARINES don't have that problem." ....Ronald Reagan

Federal benefit? If a state, county or municipal LEO is entitled to Federal Retirement Benefits, I am not aware of it. Show me too! I have been lacking for the past 17 years.

The only federal benefit I know of is Social Security at age 62 if you have accumulated an ample number of quarters - 40. Then they will reduce that by 66% unless you have been "Donating" to SS for thirty years.

Then, at age 65 you have to accept medicare - but, that is the horse of a different color.
    Last edited by SgtCHP; 09-02-2009, 09:54 AM.
    Be courteous to all, but intimate with few, and let those few be well tried before you give them your confidence!

[George Washington (1732 - 1799)]

Comment

Originally posted by SgtCHP View Post
      Federal benefit? If a state, county or municipal LEO is entitled to Federal Retirement Benefits, I am not aware of it. Show me too! I have been lacking for the past 17 years.

The only federal benefit I know of is Social Security at age 62 if you have accumulated an ample number of quarters - 40. Then they will reduce that by 66% unless you have been "Donating" to SS for thirty years.

Then, at age 65 you have to accept medicare - but, that is the horse of a different color.
      +1 Thats it. Social Security.

You might be thinking of Federal DEATH benefits if a PO is killed in the line of duy.

But there are no federal retirement benefits.
      Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important