300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do you call your dispatch?

I know there's a huge variation, I'm just curious to see what names different places have for their dispatch centers. Oh, and I'm referring to when you're raising them via the radio...

The first county I worked in it was simply "dispatch."

With the county I work in now, we use the name of our county.

What about all you folks out there?
    sigpic

A number of names come to mind-stupid,lazy,incompetent,rude,bossy and many others. Really we went to a consolidated dispatch over one year ago. While we have some very good dispatchers the center is a joke. They attempt to make department policy. We can no longer get timely correct information. We get sent to calls in completely different cities and towns than our own-by mistake. A very bad and dangerous situation. Worse part? They think it's great!!

As for the real question, before we called ours dispatch. When the new mess came on line we were given a directive that " dispatch will not be called and addressed as control". WTH ?? Dispatch will now be called control !! Yep-makes good sense to me.
    Last edited by j706; 11-19-2008, 01:22 AM.
    "Laws that forbid the carrying of arms. . . disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes. . . Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man." - Thomas Jefferson

Comment

Barstow.

I wish it was dispatch. It keeps is simple. Also we say it backwards. Instead of call sign-Barstow it's Barstow-call sign.

Comment

We use the name of our city, but if I'm talking about them off the radio it is "idiots", "lazy", "worthless"

Comment

Headquarters
          In Memory of A Fallen Hero

Comment