300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• University Police Officers

I work for a large University department. We deal with alot of people that are not students, and get a fair amount of hot calls on and off campus. The other day I was in line at a restaurant when the officer waiting next to me saw my badge holder as I took out my credit card. He asked me if i worked in his area? I told him that I was a University Officer and told him the location. He did not say anything for a second, and then he went "mmm".

I was not expecting 20 questions, or for him to express interest, but I got the impression that he was "less" than impressed. Do other University Officers get the same feeling from "some"city or county officers or am I reading more into this than I should?

My opinion - probably a bit of both.

Comment

Here the University of Wyoming Police have full police pwers throughout the state - just like we troopers do. While they do have a limited scope - they perform a valuable service. The problem they have is they answer to "politically correct" professors and not to a mayer, or governor answerable to the people. Thus, they often end up doing "office friendly" type PR stuff rather than police work.

Hey - you got the rocks to take the sh**, wear a badge, uniform and the piece - you make the grade.
      The All New
      BBQ and Goldfish Pond Club
      Sully - IAM Rand - JasperST - L1 - The Tick - EmmaPeel - Columbus - LA Dep - SgtSlaughter - OneAdam12 - Retired96 - Iowa #1603
      - M1Garand

(any BBQ and Goldfish Pond member may nominate another user for membership but just remember ..... this ain't no weenie roast!)

Comment