Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Probation Officers don't get respect either!

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Probation Officers don't get respect either!

I am a Probation Officer in FL. We don't get the respect or pay. We don't get overtime. We must have a 4 year college degree yet no other law enforcement agency need it to get hired. We can carry a weapon but must buy our own. Management acts as though we are crazy for carrying a weapon and believe it's not needed. Half the officers don't carry and treat this job like it's a social workers position. I dress for the job, my BDU, cuff, gun, oc spray, vest. Everyone else where dress clothing. I was even told to wear a dress and heels to work and change when I go into the field. Needless to say, I did not. What happens when I have on heels and some offender decides he does not like what I stand for or what I am saying? I am fed up with the lack of respect the officers get in central fl. I plan to go to law enforcement school in January to become a certified law enforcement officer, then I can do my job and not worry about getting into trouble because I had to cuff someone. Heck, we make arrests but don't tell the offender until after the deputy come and then we say you are under arrest and let the deputy take them away. It's a joke. Burning up gas driving 200 plus miles every other day and for what to be saddled with loads of cases and investigations and to be treated like crap. Maybe it's just the circuit that I am in but I am fed up. I plan to be in good shape by the time the academy start and look forward to working with a local agency. I want to do some real law enforcement. As it looks to me, Correction Officer's have it good. At least you can cross over to law enforcement, Probation can't...I have to take the whole academy again. That's how much respect we get.

NJSP requires a 4yr degree
    "Why you harassing me?"

Comment