X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spit masks or spit hoods ??

Spit masks or spit hoods ??
    Today, 07:49 PM

Greetings everyone! I don't post very much or even lurk on here much anymore. I'm looking for suggestions and resources for ***/hoods.

In the past I worked Correction s in a county jail for many years. SRT Team, FTO, etc. Our jail policy was quite liberal and generous with permissions for placing spit hoods during any type of uncooperative or combative inmate. From fresh arrestees in intake booking to any housing unit dorms to restraint chair to Seg. Of course everything was safely and clearly documented as needed.

I now work part-time as a hospital Security Officer. Our governing authority has now taken away and forbidden all forms spit masks/hoods for fear of patient safety, aspiration, asphyxiation, etc.

Now in just 3 years, I have been spat in the face twice. Both times were by patients in our mental health unit during placement into a restraint chair.

Any suggestions for reputable equipment and a procedure policy to show to higher.

Thanks in advance.

It’s the Hospital Admin who make policy, not you. They
    have a legitimate concern regarding patient safety. You’re placing yourself in the line of fire. Seems you need to adjust your technique. Twice in three years is nothing.

Your Dept Head is the person who needs to bring it up, not you. If they don’t, then that’s your answer.
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Originally posted by Flattop View Post
      Spit masks or spit hoods ??
      Today, 07:49 PM

Greetings everyone! I don't post very much or even lurk on here much anymore. I'm looking for suggestions and resources for ***/hoods.