300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Correctional Prayers and what not.

I am looking for an article about correctional officers. This particular article would talk about how the streets we patrol are full of criminals and we are unarmed, etc etc etc. Maybe some of you have run across this at one point or another. I can't seem to locate it anywhere online. But if I should happen to come across it I will post it.
    "I am a soldier, I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight"

- General George Patton Jr

Is this what your looking for???

What would the average citizen say if it were proposed that police officer be ***igned to a neighborhood which was inhabited by no one but criminals and those officers would be unarmed, patrol on foot and be heavily outnumbered? I wager that the overwhelming public response would be that the officers would have to be crazy to accept such an ***ignment. However, as you read this, such a scenario is being played out in all areas of the country.

I am a New York State correction officer, not a guard, who is a person that catches school crossings. I work in a maximum security correctional facility. I am empowered by the State of New York to enforce its penal laws and the rules and regulations of the Department of Correctional Services. In short, I am a policeman. my beat is totally inhabited by convicted felons, who, by definition, are people who tend to break laws, rules and regulations. I am outnumbered by as much as 20, 30 and even 40 to 1 at various times during my workday, and contrary to popular belief, I work without a sidearm. in short, my neck is on the line every minute of every day.