300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How Many of you Have Had your butts handed to you

For the first five years of my career I worked as a patrol officer and while I have been in some scraps I can honestly say that most of the time when it went down I had other officers with me and we handled up fairly well.

For the last three years I have been a Deputy Sheriff and have been inside a county jail. I can honestly say I've been more stressed out in this environment, mainly because I make it that way, but the way our set up is...backup isn't readily available and the inmate's of course have the advantage. I have been in more scraps inside this jail than I was on the street and for some reason I have been doubting my ability more and more as of late when it comes to handling myself...and I haven't lost yet but I could be more proficient. I was always less afraid of getting shot at than having my face cracked...strange huh? I have gained new and profound respect for those who work in prisons and even county jails with what they, we, have to put up with and the ratios of CO's to turds.

I'm curiuos to know, have you had your butt handed to you in front of other inmates and if so, how did you get past that mental stumbling block, or did you just brush it off and say, oh well, it happens. I know all about inmate's not wanting to lose face...and I'm damn sure we don't want to lose face either. Oh yeah, one more thing, the last few times I've been knee deep in it, my radio has gone flying off, way before I even get the chance to call out...and half the time when it happens, we aren't being monitored by our control room...biggest fear, getting my *** handed to me and not being able to call for help or get it.
    Moooooooooooo, I'm a goat

Radios not being monitored by your control room? Why?