Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lazy co-worker

Ok, not going to sugar coat this.

I have been working in corrections now for almost 4 months. I have a fellow officer who has been working there for 7 or 8 months. And she acts like she owns the place. I don't mind if she was a Cpl. cause there usually doing some paper work and also they earn that right. She is on the computer non-stop surfing the web which we aren't allowed to do. She gives this attitude why the hell do you need the computer. She doesn't get out on the unit to make rounds. She also has a friend from work who is on the same shift, there always talking on the phone back and forth. I am about ready to tell her to stop wasting taxpayers money. Cause that is what she does best. What is my best action?

Who else has this problem?

Damn, thay promote them mighty fast around there.

Do you know your agency's policies and applicable laws? If not, learn them. If so, use them. They are your sword and your shield. If she's sitting on her *** in a leadership position, then she's either wrong or everyone gets to sit on their asses too. Follow the example set by your leader.
    "Keep up the good fight, pass the word, and teach others to fight back when unjustly assaulted--be it on the street or in the courtroom. Self-defense is a normal, moral act. So teach your family, friends, and students practical defense against both physical and legal marauders." by Jerry VanCook www.PrisonOfficer.Org

Comment

I have a similar problem, and this guy is my back-up officer atleast once a week. I pulled him aside one day after work, and told him if he was going to be working as my back-up, that he was going to have to start pulling his load. I work the ag/seg tank in a county jail, so it gets demanding sometimes. He just stands there, doing a crossword puzzle, oblivious to anything that may be going on. He hasn't been my back-up since we had the talk, he asked to be removed.