300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to corrections

I am a new hire getting ready to start training, and wondered what advice you guys would give to someone just starting out in corrections. Is anyone familiar with the training academy here in colorado?? I start on friday, but will do my on the job training for 3 days first.
    Also, any other females have any advice or certain concerns about working in a mens facility?? (Obviously, keep everything strictly business-I have heard stories that I find just unbelievable!) I am 5'4" and not very big, but I have been working out really hard knowing that I will have another officers back and will need to be able to hold my own if somthing should happen. I was a cop in the military, so I have a bit of experience in that department, but I also know that there is a huge difference inside prison walls, and that I have a lot to learn! How much of an issue is size, and will this make me an automatic target right away? Also, how does one establish authority with the inmates-is this something that will be taught in training, or somthing that I will learn only from experience??
    Thanks!!

Originally posted by coloradocat
    I am a new hire getting ready to start training, and wondered what advice you guys would give to someone just starting out in corrections. Is anyone familiar with the training academy here in colorado?? I start on friday, but will do my on the job training for 3 days first.