300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• personal protection?

in GA we get absolutely no personal protection items at all.. no pepper spray, or batons or anything. in other states do you all have any sort of protection of this nature?

When I worked as a Florida detention deputy in the jail we carried pepper spray. We were also stun gun certified and they were only issued in case of an emergency or cell extraction. We were also firearm certified and carried to and from work.

Comment

I hate to say this but working as a Corrections Officer with the Georgia Department of Corrections sucks ! I have the right to say that because I used to work for them . All they give you is a flash light and a radio they dont even issue out handcuffs . You are expected to go to and from work in uniform but not allowed to carry on the way . The whole department needs to be revamped . Like I have said before they are not Pro Law Enforcement they call you a Peace Officer but treat you like a Security Guard . Look I learned a lot working there this not a personal attack but I think it is a dam shame that Officers dont have the basic equipment to protect themselves .
      STAND FOR SOMETHING OR FALL FOR ANYTHING .

Comment

NC officers are authorized to carry cuffs, OC, and baton on the institution, and at most units they do. However at my facility our superintendent has forbidden us to carry these items except for officers working segregation. Only a Sgt. or above is allowed to carry OC or cuffs in general population. When we are transporting outside the facility or working escapes we do carry cuffs, OC, and a firearm.
        Doesn't really make sense to me, but what can you do.
        Be sure you're right, then go ahead
        Davy Crockett

Never pick a fight with an old man.
        If he's too old to fight, he'll just kill you

PM me if you wanna swap patches.

Comment

Originally posted by MattCO