X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Officer negligence

Hi everyone
    A newbie here,,,
    Can anyone give me an example report on how to write a Officer's negligence.
    This Officer observed two inmates fighting, he intervened to try to break it up, more inmates came on the scene and they tossed him around a bit and now he;s claiming he got hurt, He never used his radio and he didn't wait for help.

Thanks

Originally posted by CO55 View Post
    Hi everyone
    A newbie here,,,
    This Officer observed two inmates fighting, he intervened to try to break it up, more inmates came on the scene and they tossed him around a bit and now he;s claiming he got hurt, He never used his radio and he didn't wait for help.

Thanks
    Talk to him about what happened. See if you can make him understand his errors.

If you can't make him understand what he did wrong..................go speak with your supervisor and take direction from the supervisor as how to continue.
    My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

A couple questions first

I pose these questions not to be answered here in this forum, but for you to ask yourself before you do anything.

What does written departmental policy call for in this situation, how did the officer violate it and how do you know this to be true?

How do you know he didn’t radio for assistance and didn’t wait for help? Is it possible he radioed for help but his transmission did not get out? Did you witness this event? If so, did you radio for assistance and then come to his aid? If not why? Or, are you basing this on what you heard from someone? (Hearsay)

Do you hold a position of supervisory authority over this person? Are you responsible for the quality and quantity of his work? If not, did his actions in this matter endanger you? If you are not his supervisor, why are you taking action in this matter rather than his supervisor?