300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Something one of our trainees did last night

One of the trainees we have who is preparing to go to the Academy in May caught two inmates in a romantically compromising position last night, and sprayed the pitcher with Sabre Red. I believe he may have accidentally got the catcher with a little over-spray, as well. We're still not sure whether he brought the spray from home, or picked up some inattentive officer's can.
    Our shift supervisor told me to reprimand him on paper about it, and I'm honestly not sure how to proceed. I'm still a new officer, and I have some of the rough edges I developed in the military. I'm almost positive that "You f**ked up royally" is probably not the best way to do this. What I am thinking is that I will quote the regulation and tell him that this is not the right way to handle that situation. I will explain to him about Use of Force and the concept of acceptable force and excessive force, as well as good faith actions.
    While I know that PREA violations are considered assault, this is still excessive force, according to my supervisor. Personally, I can't swear that I agree. According to the regulations on Use of Force and Chemical Agents, we can only use OC in defense of ourselves, other inmates, or to prevent an escape. Hopefully, the kid will get off with only a written reprimand, because he has the makings of a good officer other than this one incident in six months.

Thoughts on this? Your insight would be appreciated.
    http://militarysignatures.com/signatures/member306.png

Some people are like slinkies. They serve no real purpose in life, but they make you smile when you push them down the stairs. -Unknown