Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BOP with college degree?

Hey everyone,

I want to make it in the BOP for my career. I want to start as a correctional officer and work my way up the ladder. I do not want to do anything else. I am worried about not getting hired or responded to when I apply because I have 6 months unitll have to start paying back my student loans. Did anyone get in the BOP with a bachelors / no work experience? Did the process take long?

I have a bachelors in criminal justice and I am accepted into a CJ masters program.
    Should I complete my masters before applying or just apply. -- I am single and willing to move anywhere for a promotion. (Also comfortable on the fact that I work a lot of 16 hour shifts)
    I would rather hold off on the masters degree because I will be requiring more debt.

Thank you for your help.

I would be better if you had some work history but you will get hired..........................there are a few BOP officers on this forum but I would suggest joining www.prisonofficer.org where there are a lot of Feds.
    Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important

My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

Originally posted by Bop football View Post
      Hey everyone,

I want to make it in the BOP for my career. I want to start as a correctional officer and work my way up the ladder. I do not want to do anything else. I am worried about not getting hired or responded to when I apply because I have 6 months unitll have to start paying back my student loans. Did anyone get in the BOP with a bachelors / no work experience? Did the process take long?

I have a bachelors in criminal justice and I am accepted into a CJ masters program.