300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Mixed Martial Arts to learn for job

I am learning that the DT in the Academy will not suffice. I want to take up some form of martial arts. I have no previous experience and want to learn a martial arts that would best suit the job. I have heard Judo. Any suggestions?

Judo is good as well as Aikido (but not the flashy dancy stuff)!!!! I have trained in Judo, Aikijujutsu and Aikido and find it is very very helpful for work!!!! But Aikido takes a while to become effective, if you have a good instructor. Check out schools and see what looks good to you!!!!
    Your Gauging Intelligence From An Ignorant Scale

Comment

I do Krav Maga and although it is not as flashy as some of the others, it is extremely effective. There are many LEO/Military specific classes that teach skills specific to that.

Comment

Have always been a big fan of Ju Jitsu...I hear Krav Maga is great too.
        "When I came home, people often asked me about Iraq, and mostly I told them it wasn't so bad. I didn't know how to explain myself to them. The war really wasn't so bad. Yes, there were bombs and shootings and nervous times, but that was just the job. In fact, going to war is rather easy. You react to situations around you and try not to die. There are no electric bills or car payments or chores around the house. Just go to work, come home alive, and do it again tomorrow." - Brian Mockenhaupt

Comment

I have taken various martial arts: Judo, Aikido, Hapkido, Brazilian Jujitsu, and kick boxing.

For our line of work I would defintely go with Judo for several reasons.

1) Promotes good balance (teaches you to stay on your feet)
          2) Ends confrontations quickly (Throwing someone on the ground will usually do that
          3) The public usually sees punches/kicks as more violent than foot sweep/throws
          4) Risk of bodily fluid transfer (mixing of blood) is low