300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just Sworn In ...

So here I go. I put myself through the academy. I graduated a few weeks ago. I applied to my dream department (good pay, good equip, good people, and I grew up there). I was sworn in a day ago. I go in Monday morning to pick up my uniform and equipment. Next week I start FTO.

Any advice? Anything you wish someone would have told you back then?

It's all sort of surreal. I mean it seems like a second ago I was discouraged thinking "They're not even going to call me back I bet" or "Oh man I hope I passed that psych". Now suddenly I have a badge number and a huge book of procedures and policies I get to spend the weekend reading. It still hasn't sunk in yet. I've done dozens of ride alongs on the weekends during the academy. I hate to sound week, but I am definitely a bit scared. Not of injury or death, but of screwing up etc.

Anyways, just wanted to vent, and get that out. Haven't told anyone but my immediate family yet. Wanted to wait until Monday morning when I get all geared up (they take a pic for my photo ID) and then tell my friends and more distant relatives. So I really needed to just sort of get this off my chest and "tell the world" so to say. I'm so happy it's hard to hold this great news in for a few more days.

Congratulations !! You are now part of a brotherhood of police. Advice, stay safe, pay attention and learn from your FTO, put your safety and that of your partner first at all times, remember the saying "I'd rather be judged by 12 than carried by 6"
    law dog

Comment

Congrats and welcome to the club. Let us know when you're off FTO so we can get you the secret decoder ring too.
      Originally posted by kontemplerande
      Without Germany, you would not have won World War 2.

Comment

LMAO !!! Awesome. Do I have to buy a box of cereal to get it? haha

Thanks guys. I am very happy to finally be a part of the family.

Comment